New Look 6179 Peasant Dress

When I was in Maui, I saw this dress at Cinnamon Girl (a similar one) and didn’t want to pay $86 for it. It was a little large for me anyway. I had wanted to find matching outfits for my daughter and me.

IMG_3370I used New Look 6179 and the skirt from Vogue 8508 as a guide to make it into a dress. I chose New Look 6179 because of the many reviews on sewing.patternreview.com. I especially liked that it did not have a lot of excess fabric in the neckline. The fabric is a polyester fabric that I picked up from Joann Fabrics.

IMG_3629

Here is a picture of the front pattern piece. I also added bell sleeves. The flare of the skirt was too much so I had trim at least 4 inches from the width of the skirt bottom. You can see the original pattern bottom of the blouse and if I had followed that line for the skirt I probably would not have had to trim the skirt.

IMG_3627IMG_3628

Here is the finished dress. This is my first dress with raglan sleeves. I wasn’t sure how it would fit so I used the final bust measurement to determine size. I used size 10 pattern. I took out 1 inch from the back and front center. There is not much room at the armscye. If I make this again, I will make the armscye deeper.IMG_3638I used my #63 hemmer foot for the sleeves and #5 foot for a blind hem. Happy with the dress. It does tend to ride up a little bit in the front, but that is probably because it has such a wide neckline. If you have a solution, let me know.

IMG_3634

I like the silhouette on the dress and it reminds of the 70s. Better than wearing these crochet shorts by LordvonSchmitt. Who would wear these? What’s the weirdest fashion trend you’ve seen lately? il_570xN.463029880_4rz8

5 thoughts on “New Look 6179 Peasant Dress

Leave a Reply

