Vogue Couturier 1670 Dress

It has been several weeks since I have felt like blogging or sewing. I’m glad I’ve been able get this dress as close to finished as I can for now.

Vogue Couturier 1670

Vogue Couturier 1670

photo 3 photo 2

This is a wearable muslin. I think that I will probably make the dress again in silk that is underlined. I did have to make some alterations for my height–shortened at the waist and also at the hem. I also lowered the bust slightly. You can see on my dress form that my shoulders are a little more rounded so I will need to alter the pattern so that the shoulders aren’t so square. It has just a small gap at the shoulder seams that I don’t like. I also had to take a little fabric from the top of the center back so that the neckline would not gape. I will most likely make the darts at the back neckline a little wider next time. I also will most likely take the waist in to give a little more definition. I have not finished the seams and have not finished the hem yet.

I haven’t completely finished this because I am waiting until I get my body back–specifically my bust. All my life I have never had any major medical problems. I’ve tried to exercise and eat healthfully. I just had a little ganglion cyst that bothered me occasionally and joked that someone should just hit it with a heavy book. Well, one day I was pushing a heavy ICU bed while transporting a patient and felt sudden sharp pain in my wrist. I must have caused enough pressure on it as I shoved the bed that it popped. The next day is was gone. Yay! Well, now I wished I had it back instead of breast cancer.

I’m 43 and have been getting mammograms since the age of 40. Through the mammogram (no distinct palpable lump) and later a stereotactic biopsy, I was  diagnosed in February with a 7 cm area of early breast cancer ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS) Stage 0. It was too large for a lumpectomy. So on April 8, I had a bilateral (double) mastectomy with sentinel node biopsy.

Preop area, prior to mastectomy

My No Make-up Selfie, Before Surgery

 

Only on that day, I wore my boots (people asked after the Christmas card) to work. My husband promised me $100 if I wore it. I think I’ll spend it on fabric.

Just over three weeks now after surgery. So grateful, for all the support and prayers that I have received. I am especially thankful that because the cancer was not invasive, I will not require any chemotherapy, radiation, or medications. Every day is better. I am also going through a staged reconstruction and so will need to return for surgery for permanent implants in 5-6 months. Thus I am waiting on my bust. I want to be the same as I was before, but I know that I am forever changed.

I am thankful that my mother is a breast cancer survivor and that now I am one too. Grateful also, that I don’t have the gene that would most certainly pass it on to my daughter. I wish my aunt was still with us, but she chose a different path of no treatment.

God has a plan for me. I know I don’t often understand it. I will continue to walk in faith. He will get me through this.

Jeremiah 29:11-13 NIV
“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.”

Sorry such a downer, forgive me for not modeling the dress for you. On the positive side, I might need to make myself another dress form in a few months. I’m thinking about making a video of the process. I wonder if anyone would be interested in purchasing it if I did.

I have not yet decided on whether I am going to make a matching coat. The instructions were definitely couture and seemed rather involved. If I don’t make the coat, I will sell this pattern on eBay soon.

I welcome any questions that you may have about my breast cancer journey in the comments below or can send me message through the About Me page. Thanks and have a great weekend!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Vogue Couturier 1670 Dress

Leave a Reply

