Vilene Bias Tape and Wonder Tape to the Rescue

I had all my feet for my Bernina 1080 and 830 Record machines scattered in front of me this morning. Taking inventory because there is a sale on Bernina feet! They are 25% off September 16-23. I finally settled on two new feet the #39 embroidery clear foot and #52 zig-zag with non-stick sole. Bernina Feet #39 and #52

I already have #34 clear foot which I have really enjoyed using and thought that the #39 foot would be useful when I need to do more sewing that required raised stitching. When I used the #34 to do satin stitches for a zipper stop, it seemed to catch just a little.

I’m almost done with my overdress! I gathered the dress instead of pleating. Athough the design was symmetrical from center, the embroidery was not evenly spaced. I also serge finished the waist seam. I then inserted the invisible zipper. I used a lightweight #2 invisible zipper. I first serged the edges then realized I meant to stabilize the opening with strips of organza, so I placed those in afterwards and sewed them in just inside of the seam allowance.Organza strip

I then used Wonder Tape (amazing incredible stuff!!) to position the zipper. It is water soluble so won’t add bulk.

Wonder Tape

Zipper positioned using Wonder Tape

Zipper positioned using Wonder Tape

I then used my #35 invisible foot to place the zipper which went in perfectly (except when I twisted the dress before I sewed the second half and had to rip it out and redo).

Bernina #35 Invisible Foot

Bernina #35 Invisible Foot

I then french seamed the the sides using a #57 foot which is a 1/4 inch foot with guide.

Bernina #57

Bernina #57

Completed French Seam

Completed French Seam

I used Vilene Bias Tape to stabilize the neckline and armscyes. I ordered it from Sew Essential in UK. I had never worked with it before but BurdaStyle mentioned it in pattern instructions. Really lightweight. One thing, if you press too long and too hot, it will melt!! If anyone has a alternative product that is comparable here in the US, let me know please.

Vilene Bias Tape

Vilene Bias Tape

Here are pictures of the fabric edge trimmed. I think this is hand embroidered. I do not see how a sewing machine would be able to crisscross threads on the wrong side.

Right Side

Right Side

Wrong Side

Wrong Side

Side Right

Side Right

Left Side

Left Side

Overdress Unfinished Neckline and Armscyes

Overdress Unfinished Neckline and Armscyes

Next will be to place a bias facing on the neckline and armscyes.

Here in northern Colorado, we have gotten so much rain. It is raining as I type. Fortunately for us, we are not near the flooded areas. It is terrible that lives have been lost and that people are homeless from it. I hope that this finds you all well and dry.

Leave a Reply

